When investigating different ways to be self-sufficient and to live off grid I have been looking into solar panels, windmills and how to make my own power.

An unexpected thing I have discovered that has gotten me really excited is the solar cooker, or solar oven.  These are solar powered heat sources that by reflecting the suns light onto  a dark coloured heat transferring container (basically a black aluminium pot) can be used to cook food.  Not just stews either, which I have to admit was my first thought, these units can even bake bread.

One site that I came across SolarCooking.org has examples of many types of solar cookers, including plans on how to build them.  You can end up looking through these for several days, or at least I did, and I’ll post some pictures later of my cooker attempts.